Back to the tour

Photo by Cydcor (CC BY 2.0)

This building is the main seat of the Council of the European Union (and also houses the similar-sounding European Council). The giant ‘space egg’ nested inside this building is where EU summits (also known as European Council meetings), multilateral summits and ministerial meetings take place.

The national delegations and the President of the European Council also have their offices in Europa. Along with member state Prime Ministers or Presidents, the President of the Council, the President of the Commission and the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy also take part in the meetings of the European Council. The European Parliament’s President is allowed in to make a speech but then has to leave when the formal talks begin.